Our Story

An initiating trip to the land of the rising sun 🇯🇵

The Eye of Tokyo is originally the reflection of a group of student entrepreneurs traveling to the land of the rising sun; "Is it still possible to find inexpensive quality glasses?" And the answer is yes, in Japan.

Indeed, when most manufacturers choose between a "quality" or "inexpensive" label, Japanese companies like our partner Tenyou do not decide. It is under the effect of local competition and corporate values that they respect both their products and their customers.

The Tenyou House ✍🏼

Above; Augustin (Co-founder of L'Œil de Tokyo) analyzes the first samples with Chi-san, the founder of Maison Tenyou.

Japanese company founded in 2003 and based two hours south of Tokyo, by the sea in Kamakura. Its founder, Chi-san, has surrounded herself for 16 years with a team mainly made up of Japanese women to develop her creations in a unique retro Japanese style. As much in its designs as its commitments, Tenyou is always one step ahead in a still very conservative Japanese company. 

We are looking above all 💡

  • IRREPROACHABLE QUALITY by a choice of UV400 protective lenses (maximum UV protection) and robust materials for the assembly of the frames (polycarbonate and metal).   
  • A UNIQUE DESIGN, the result of 16 years of research and innovation with the aim of always associating vintage inspiration with a modern and sometimes futuristic design (see Omotesando collection). 
  • FAIR PRICES that make our products both accessible and competitive with a build quality that sets them apart in their category.

 

 

x

English en

Histoire

Un voyage initiateur au pays du soleil levant 🇯🇵

L'Œil de Tokyo c'est à l'origine la réflexion d'un groupe d'étudiants entrepreneurs en voyage au pays du soleil levant ; "Est-il encore possible de trouver des lunettes de qualité bon marché ?". Et la réponse est oui, au Japon.

En effet, quand la plupart des fabricants choisissent entre une étiquette "qualité" ou "bon marché", les entreprises japonaises comme notre partenaire Tenyou ne tranchent pas. C'est sous l'effet de la concurrence locale et des valeurs d'entreprise qu'elles se tiennent à respecter aussi bien leurs produits que leurs clients.

La Maison Tenyou ✍🏼

Ci-dessus ; Augustin (Co-fondateur de L'Œil de Tokyo) analyse les premiers échantillons avec Chi-san, la fondatrice de la Maison Tenyou.

Entreprise japonaise fondée en 2003 et basée à deux heures au sud de Tokyo, en bord de mer à Kamakura. Sa fondatrice, Chi-san, s'est entourée depuis 16 ans d'une équipe majoritairement composée de femmes japonaises pour développer ses créations dans un style rétro japonais unique. Autant dans ses designs que ses engagements, Tenyou a toujours une longueur d'avance dans une société japonaise encore très conservatrice. 

Nous recherchons avant tout 💡

  • UNE QUALITÉ IRRÉPROCHABLE par un choix de verres protecteurs UV400 (protection UV maximale) et de matériaux robustes pour l'assemblage des montures (polycarbonate et métal).   
  • UN DESIGN UNIQUE, le résultat de 16 années de recherches et d'innovations avec comme objectif de toujours associer l'inspiration vintage à un dessin moderne et parfois futuriste (voir collection Omotesando). 
  • DES PRIX JUSTES qui rendent nos produits à la fois accessibles et compétitifs avec une qualité de fabrication qui les distingue largement dans leur catégorie.

 

 

x

français fr